Class of 2019

Inductees to be Honored in Sun Valley, ID

U.S. Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame
Snowsport Pioneers Making History

In August, over 250 industry advocates voted to determine the US Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame Class of 2019. The OUTSTANDING individuals listed below were selected from a pool of over 70 nominees to earn a spot in this year’s class.


Scott Brooksbank

Denver, CO

An inspirational pioneer of freestyle skiing, his competitive career spanned three decades earning five world titles in over forty podium appearances. He continues to mentor the next generation of ski champions in the “art of the ski turn”.


Kit DesLauriers

Jackson, WY

After winning consecutive freestyle championships, Kit DesLauriers accomplished greatness by becoming the first person to climb and ski down the summits of the highest peaks of all 7 continents. She is one of the greatest female ski mountaineers in history.


Johnny Spillane

Steamboat Springs, CO

Johnny Spillane blazed the trail for nordic combined in America, skiing to the first World Championship gold in 2003 then leading Team USA with an unprecedented three silver medals at the 2010 Olympic Winter Games.


Benjamin Finley & Arthur Clay

Marina del Rey, CA & Chicago, IL

Their nearly 50 year vision has created tens of thousands of snow sports enthusiasts, generating hundreds of millions of dollars in revenue across the winter sports industry. The NBS’ annual gathering is one of the largest ski events in America.


James Niehues

Loma, CO

James Niehues, with the utmost care to detail, has meticulously hand painted the overwhelming majority of the trail maps in North America that we all know, love and rely on to navigate the often complicated network of trails and lifts.


Greg Stump

San Diego, CA

Greg Stump re-invented the ski movie, creating a body of work that remains relevant and influential to this day. Stump stopped making ski movies when he presciently foresaw the dangers of the extreme genre he helped create.


Sherman Poppen

Muskegon, MI

Often called the “Grandfather of Snowboarding” Sherman Poppen invented the Snurfer in 1965, and eventually sold over 1 million units. The snurfer was the first mass produced snowboard. Poppen is credited to be the inventor of the sport of snowboarding.

The National Voting Panel is comprised of the board members from:

-US Ski and Snowboard
-Cross Country Ski Areas Association (CSSAA)
-The US Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame
-United States Olympics (USOC)
-Sports Specialists Ltd. (SSL)
-Regional Museum and Ski Area Associations
-The International Skiing History Association (ISHA)
-The National Ski Patrol (NSP)
-Professional Ski Instructors of America (PSIA-AASI)
-Snowsport Industries America (SIA)
-Living Honored Members of the Hall of Fame
-National Ski Area Association (NSAA)
-North American Snowsports Journalists Assoc.
-National Brotherhood of Skiers (NBS)
-Members of US Ski and Snowboard Awards committee
-Snowsports Merchandising Associations (SMC)
-Other appointed industry individuals appointed by the USSSHoF board Chairman

To apply for a position on the NVP please email [email protected] with your name, industry connections and resume along with one paragraph on why you feel you are qualified to vote. You can also fill out our contact form online.